Test Methods

Testing of flammability of insulation films

Various standards attempt to test the flammability of the insulation materials used by means of simulation in situations that are as close to reality as possible. This may be, for example, by means of the hot wire ignition test (overheating of a wire) or flame impingement (electric arc for tracking). There are also tests that simulate the real situation in rooms or control cabinets with chimney-like test designs. The results from the various methods can vary significantly and must be used in the context of specific objectives.

Flammability is tested according to the following standards, among others: UL94, IEC 60707, IEC 60695-11, DIN 40633-4.7, VDE 0340, UL 510, IEC 60454-2, DIN 4102, DIN EN 13501, etc.

(Definition: test of a device or material regarding its capacity not to become flammable or not to cause a fire (or smouldering fire) in the event e.g. of a short circuit or external application of heat. For example, classification of flammability under DIN EN 13501; flammability class (fire class) B1 = low flammability).

The procedures for plastic differ generally in the positioning of the test sample: horizontal, vertical or wound round a metal rod (films/adhesive tapes).

Test method FMVSS 302 / DIN 75200

In this test of the fire behaviour of materials, the samples are clamped horizontally in a holder. The sample size is around 360 x 100 mm with a maximum thickness of 13 mm.

The first measurement mark (start of speed measurement) is at 38 mm, the second at 76 mm.

The sample is exposed to a Bunsen burner flame for 15 seconds on one edge. The speed at which the flame spreads is measured from the measurement mark. The test results are documented as follows:

  • DNI - non-flammable

  • SE - self-extinguishing (material burns but goes out before the measurement mark is reached)

  • SE/NBR - self-extinguishing with no burning rate (material burns, but goes out within 60 seconds and burning path is below 76 mm)

  • SE/B - self-extinguishing, the flame goes out within the measurement distance above the first 76 mm; the burning rate is given as 60xburning path/burning time (mm/min).

  • B - the flame covers the whole burning path (a total of 360 mm). The burning rate is given as 60xburning path/burning time (mm/min).

Hot wire ignition (HWI) test

The HWI (hot wire ignition) test is used as one of the specifications for insulation materials. This classifies the products more finely in terms of their flammability. An overcurrent caused e.g. by a short circuit is simulated, causing a wire (coil, supply cable) to glow. Under the IEC 60695 standard, the test is carried out at temperatures of 550 °C, 650 °C, 750 °C, 850 °C and 960 °C. The test determines if the material ignites or continues to glow (test time 30 sec.). The temperature (+25K) at which the test is passed is specified. On the other hand, under the UL 746A standard, the time at which the test sample ignites is given.

Odoo text and image block
HWI Range Mean time to inflammation in sec.
PLC Mark
120 and more
0
60 to 119
1
30 to 56
2
15 to 29
3
7 to 14
4
less than 7
5

You will find details of the products in the respective E-files for the materials at UL. For example, the value for Nomex and Kapton PLC is 0.

Other tests include, for example, resistance to ignition when electric arcs are applied. These can come about if the surface of the insulating materials is so dirty or has become so conductive because of the voltage load that an electric arc ignites. One measure of the resistance of an insulating material (among others!) is the tracking resistance.

cti Comperative Tracking Index

Tracking is brought about by the formation of a conductive pathway on the surface of an insulating material, caused by the simultaneous effect of electrical and electrolytic factors (in the absence of moisture).

In the case of electrical erosion, electrical discharges erode parts of the insulating material from the surface. An electrically conductive pathway is created by this and by the degradation products. In many insulating materials, the CTI test can result in spontaneous ignition. The CTI value is a figure without unit.

Standard measurement set-up: Two platinum electrodes are placed on the surface of the insulating material (3 mm thick or more) with a gap of 4 mm. An ammonium chloride solution is gradually dripped between them and voltage is applied. The CTI value indicates the maximum voltage at which there is no tracking path formation (definition of comparative tracking index: highest figure for voltage at which there is no failure in five samples after 50 drops in each case).

Typical examples:

CTI = 1 (400-599V); Polyester, PEN, PP CTI = 2 (250-399V)

CTI = 3 (175-249V); PPS; PC, FR4-sheets (mostly)

CTI = 4 (100-174V); PI, PEI, PEEK

According to IEC 60112 and IEC 60664 (test method) the comperative tracking index is comparable with the classifications of the cti value in UL 746A as follows:

600 ≤ CTI: I 400 ≤ CTI < 600: II 175 ≤ CTI < 400: IIIa 100 ≤ CTI < 175: IIIb

Mandrel (spindle) test in accordance with EN 61558

As evidence of the efficiency of our adhesive insulation tapes, a few years ago we had a mandrel test carried out in accordance with EN 61558 Section 26.3 by the VDE testing body. The CMC 10966, CMC 10160, CMC 10262, CMC 10165, CMC 10858, CMC 10260 and CMC 70100 products passed the test with respect to the (reduced) distance through the insulating films (two layers). If you wish, we will send you the test report by e-mail.

In conjunction with the very good CTI values for the polyester film, compact insulation is possible in situations where small clearance and tracking distances are required.

Prüfmethoden

Prüfung der Brennbarkeit von Isolationsfolien

Verschiedene Normen versuchen durch Simulation möglichst realitätsnaher Situationen die Entflammbarkeit von eingesetzten Isolationsstoffen zu prüfen. Dies kann zum Beispiel die Glühdrahtprüfung sein (Überhitzung einer Leitung) oder die Beflammung (Lichtbogen bei Kriechwegbildung). Es gibt auch Prüfungen, die durch kaminartigen Testaufbau die reale Situation in Zimmern oder Schaltschränken zu simulieren. Die Ergebnisse der verschiedenen Methoden können sich stark unterscheiden und müssen zielbezogen eingesetzt werden.

Die Entflammbarkeit wird u.a. nach folgenden Normen/Standards geprüft: UL94, IEC 60707, IEC 60695-11, DIN 40633-4.7, VDE 0340, UL 510, IEC 60454-2, DIN 4102, DIN EN 13501, etc.

(Definition: Test einer Einrichtung oder eines Materials hinsichtlich der Fähigkeit, im Falle z.B. eines Kurzschlusses oder externer Wärmezufuhr nicht entzündlich zu sein bzw. nicht Grund für ein Feuer (oder Glimmbrand) zu sein. Zum Beispiel bei DIN EN 13501 Einstufung nach Brennbarkeit; Brennbarkeitsklasse (Brandklasse) B1 = schwerentflammbar).

Die Verfahren für Kunststoffe unterscheiden sich grob durch die Anordnung des Prüflings: Horizontal, Vertikal oder auf einem Metallstab aufgewickelt (Folien/Klebebänder).

Prüfmethode FMVSS 302 / DIN 75200

Bei dieser Prüfung zum Brandverhalten von Werkstoffen werden die Proben horizontal in einen Träger eingespannt. Die Probengröße beträgt rund 360 x 100 mm bei einer maximalen Probenstärke von 13 mm.

Die erste Meßmarke (Start der Geschwindigkeitesmessung) liegt bei 38 mm, die zweite bei 76mm.

Die Probe wird mit einem Bunsenbrenner 15 Sekunden lang am einer Kante beflammt. Es wird ab der Meßmarke die Ausbreitungsgeschwindigkeit der Flamme gemessen. Die Prüfergebnisse werden wie folgt dokumentiert:

  • DNI - nicht entflammbar

  • SE - selbstverlöschend (Material brennt, verlischt aber vor Erreichen der Meßmarke)

  • SE/NBR - selbstverlöschend ohne Brennrate (Material brennt, erlischt aber innerhalb 60 Sekunden und Brennweg liegt unterhalb 76 mm)

  • SE/B - selbstverlöschend, die Flamme erlischt innerhalb der Meßstrecke oberhalb der ersten 76 mm; Die Brennrate wird als 60xBrennweg/Brennzeit (mm/min) angeben.

  • B - Die Flamme legt den gesamten Brennweg (insg. 360 mm) zurück. Es wird die Brennrate als 60xBrennweg/Brennzeit (mm/min) angeben.

Glühdrahtprüfung (HWI)

Bei den Isolationsmaterialien gibt es u.a. als Materialspezifikation den HWI Test (Hot Wire Ignition). Dieser klassifiziert die Produkte feiner in brennbar oder nicht. Simuliert wird ein durch z.B. Kurzschluß erzeugter Überstrom, der einen Draht (Windung, Zuleitung) zur Rotglut bringt. Bei der Norm IEC 60695 wird bei Prüftemperaturen von 550°C, 650°C, 750°C, 850°C und 960°C geprüft. Es wird überprüft, ob das Material sich entzündet bzw. nachglüht (Prüfzeit 30 Sec) Es wird angegeben, bei welcher Temperatur (+25K) die Prüfung bestanden wird. Dagegen wird in der Norm UL 746A die Zeit angegeben, bis der Probekörper sich entzündet.

Odoo text and image block
HWI Range Mittlere Zeit bis Entzündung in sec.
PLC Kennzeichen
120 und länger
0
60 bis 119
1
30 bis 56
2
15 bis 29
3
7 bis 14
4
Weniger als 7
5

Angaben zu den Produkten finden Sie in den jeweiligen E-Files der Materialien bei UL. Zum Beispiel beträgt der Wert bei Nomex und Kapton PLC 0.

Weitere Prüfungen sind zum Beispiel die Widerstandsfestigkeit gegen Entzündung bei Beaufschlagung mit Lichtbögen. Diese können entstehen, wenn die Oberfläche des Isolationsstoffs so weit verschmutzt ist oder durch die Spannungsbelastung soweit leitfähig geworden ist, daß ein Lichtbogen zündet. Ein Maß (unter anderen!) für die Widerstandsfähigkeit eines Isolationsstoffes ist die Kriechstromfestigkeit.

cti Comperative Tracking Index

Ein Kriechweg (tracking) entsteht durch die Bildung eines leitfähigen Pfades auf der Oberfläche eines Isolierstoffes, verursacht durch gleichzeitige Einwirkung von elektrischen und elektrolytischen Einflüssen (also bei Anwesenheit von Feuchtigkeit).

Bei der elektrischen Erosion werden durch elektrische Entladungen Teile des Isolierstoffs von der Oberfläche abgetragen. Dadurch und durch die Abbauprodukte bildet sich ein elektrisch leitender Pfad. Bei manchen Isolierstoffen kann es im Rahmen der cti-Prüfung zur Selbstentzündung kommen. Der cti-Wert ist eine einheitenlose Kennzahl.

Prinzipieller Meßaufbau: Auf die Oberfläche des Isolierstoffes (3 mm Stärke oder mehr) werden zwei Platinelektroden in 4mm Abstand aufgebracht. Dazwischen wird nach und nach eine (Ammoniumchlorid)-Lösung geträufelt und Spannung angelegt. Der cti-Wert gibt an, bei welcher höchsten Spannung es zu keiner Kriechwegbildung kommt (Definition CTI (Comparative Tracking Index): höchster Zahlenwert der Spannung, bei der an fünf Proben nach jeweils 50 Auftropfungen kein Ausfall eintrat).

Typische Beispiele:

CTI = 1 (400-599V); Polyester, PEN, PP CTI = 2 (250-399V)

CTI = 3 (175-249V); PPS; PC, FR4-Platinen (meistens)

CTI = 4 (100-174V); PI, PEI, PEEK

Nach IEC 60112 und IEC 60664 (Testverfahren) ist der comperative tracking index mit den Klassifizierungen des cti-Wertes in UL 746A wie folgt vergleichbar:

600 ≤ CTI: I 400 ≤ CTI < 600: II 175 ≤ CTI < 400: IIIa 100 ≤ CTI < 175: IIIb

Mandrel (Spindel) - Test nach EN 61558

Zum Nachweis der Leistungsfähigkeit unserer Isolationsklebebänder haben wir bereits vor einigen Jahren einen Mandreltest nach EN 61558 Abschnitt 26.3 bei der VDE-Prüfstelle durchführen lassen. Die Produkte CMC 10966, CMC 10160, CMC 10262, CMC 10165, CMC 10858 und CMC 70100 bestanden die Prüfung hinsichtlich des (reduzierten) Abstand durch die Isolierfolien (zwei Lagen). Auf Wunsch erhalten Sie den Prüfbericht per E-Mail zugesandt.

In Verbindung mit den sehr guten CTI-Werten der Polyesterfolie ist damit ein kompakter Isolationsaufbau möglich bei geringen notwendigen Luft- und Kriechstrecken.