Teonex® - a pen-film between Mylar® and Kapton®

If you are looking for a film with a higher classification than class B (130 °C) thermal resistance, very good dielectric strength and extremely good mechanical properties, you will soon discover that Kapton® is an obvious option. But the high price of Kapton® film reflects its extremely good properties, some of which are often not needed at all.

Teonex® from Teijin DuPont meets many of the requirements in the field of insulation with much better cost-effectiveness. The polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) film can be used mechanically up to 160 °C (electrically up to 180 °C) and has greater mechanical stability than “normal” PET film.

With Teonex as the basic insulation, it is easily possible to construct insulation systems of UL class F (155 °C continuous operating temperature). Adhesive tapes such as CMC 61100 and CMC 61200 therefore make it possible to meet higher requirements without having to use Kapton® film, which has significantly more properties than required and is therefore more expensive.

The film is also used in applications in other areas of industry because of its low vapour and gas permeability and chemical resistance.

CMC Klebetechnik supplies film adhesive tapes, laminates, punched shaped parts and rolls made of Teonex®.

  Advantages at a glance:

  • Teonex® has a 4-times greater resistance to hydrolysis (degradation resulting from moisture)

  • Teonex® has a glass transition temperature of 155 °C (class F use possible)

  • Teonex® has lower shrinkage of just 0.4 to 1.0% (150 °C/30 min; depending on thickness)

  • Teonex® has outstanding dielectric strength up to 300 kV/mm (25 µm)

  • Teonex® has outstanding mechanical stability even at high temperatures

  • Teonex® is available in 25 µm and 50 µm thicknesses (other thicknesses available on request)

Teonex PEN-Folie und Klebeband
CMC-Type
Breakdown voltage (Veff.)
Properties

CMC 29725
​PEN-Film Teonex® Q53
non adhesive

Substrate Thickness: 0,025 mm
-
-
Request Offer
CMC 29750
​​PEN-Film Teonex® Q51
non adhesive

Substrate Thickness: 0,050 mm
-
-
Request Offer
CMC 61100
​PEN-Adhesive Tape
Adhesive: Acrylate

Substrate Thickness: 0,025 mm
Total Thickness: 0,070 mm
5.000
​KAdhesive tape based on a PEN film equipped with a very good adhesive, thermosetting acrylate adhesive, which also adheres very well to many low-energy subsoils. The material is suitable because of the materials used for Thermal Class FPEN has a lower shrinkage, a higher hydrolysis stability and a lower gas and water vapor permeability than conventional polyester films
Request Offer
Datenblatt
Datasheet
CMC 61144
PEN-Adhesive Tape 
Adhesive: Acrylate

Substrate Thickness: 0,025 mm
Total Thickness: 0,040 mm
-
-
Request Offer
CMC 61200
​Laminate of PEN and glass fabric Adhesive: Acrylate

Substrate Thickness: 0,025 mm
Total Thickness: 0,070 mm
4.500
Mechanically very sturdy adhesive tape for bundling and as phase insulation in electric motorsThermal Class F), enormous power reserve through glass fabric, very good adhesive strength.
Request Offer
Datenblatt
Datasheet
CMC 61401
​PEN-Adhesive Tape 
Adhesive: Polyester resin - flame retardant

Substrate Thickness: 0,025 mm
Total Thickness: 0,075 mm
​≥ 6.000 Laminating film for flat cable production based on PEN foil (FFC - flexible flat cables)
Request Offer
Datenblatt

Adhesive tapes based on PEN films

For more than 40 years, polyester film has become an established, high-performance insulating material in electrical engineering. The available material thicknesses range from about 4 μm to areas of almost 1 mm. Excellent chemical, thermal and electrical characteristics are convincing in countless applications. Most of the standard insulation tape of CMC Klebetechnik is based on polyester films with corresponding adhesive coatings.

However, if a film with a higher thermal load is required, the use of high-performance materials, such as polyimide (PI) films, has so far often been possible. Although the performance data of such PI films are impressive, the price for the films is also significantly higher due to the more elaborate manufacturing process. Not every application is able to withstand this increased price - especially if larger quantities of the insulation film are required.

The gap between these two well-known materials includes adhesive tapes based on the PEN film. According to the chemical structure, polyethylene naphthalate is very closely related to the polyethylene terephthalate (PET, polyester). PEN differs from PET mainly by a higher glass transition temperature (Tg), greater mechanical strength and good resistance to hydrolysis. On the other hand, PEN of PET is less dependent on haptics and transparency. There are also hardly any differences in the adhesive materials of the two materials.

However, the higher glass transition temperature permits the use of the PEN film in applications requiring Class F (155 ° C) materials. Together with the improved resistance to hydrolysis, chemicals and UV, the PEN film has retained a material that is appreciated among other things by electric motor manufacturers. Higher efficiency, smaller design and operation at rated load create a thermal load that can resist materials such as Nomex or PEN better than conventional PET films. The service life and reliability in overload are significantly improved.


The real advantage, however, is played by PEN in transformer construction. The known polyester film can be used as the interlayer insulation for Thermal Class B. When constructing a transformer of Thermal Class F , it was necessary to avoid polyimide foils, particularly in the non-impregnated coil structure, a few years ago, which considerably increased the design.

This gap closes the PEN film, providing a more cost-effective way to build class F coils and transformers. The film is classified with UL 94 VTM-2 flammability and achieves a Relative Thermal Index (RTI) = 180 ° C (mechanical), 160 ° C (electrical).

CMC bonding technology used in the case of adhesive tapes based on PEN usually use the adhesive already used on the PET film, as long as the increased continuous use temperature can be tolerated. In this way, well-known components can be used which, for example, do not lead to any unexpected results during the tests in the sealed tube test according to UL 1446. Adoption of PEN-based adhesive tapes into existing electrical insulation systems (EIS) is thus inexpensive and possible with low risk.

At present, PEN films are finding a growing interest among manufacturers of components for the automotive industry, especially within the framework of e-mobility. The higher media resistance plays a particularly important role here - but the significantly higher price compared to the polyester film also dampens the willingness to use by the development engineers.

PEN films Tapes are available from CMC in the following standard versions:

CMC 61100 - 25µm PEN film with solvent acrylic adhesive

CMC 61200 - 25μm PEN film laminated with glass fabric and a solvent acrylic adhesive

 Special designs, occasionally made:

Adhesive tapes with 50μm PEN film, PEN adhesive tapes with temperature-stable polysiloxane adhesive, PEN film lined with Nomex and acrylate adhesive.

Teonex® - eine PEN-Folie zwischen Mylar® und Kapton®

Sucht man eine Folie, die eine höhere Einstufung als die Klasse B (130°C) Temperaturbeständigkeit besitzt, eine sehr gute Spannungsfestigkeit und außergewöhnliche gute mechanische Eigenschaften, so findet man schnell heraus, das Kapton® geeignet sein könnte. Aber der hohe Preis dieser Kapton®-Folie korreliert mit ihren außergewöhnlich guten Eigenschaften, die man jedoch oft gar nicht benötigt.

Teonex® von Teijin DuPont erfüllt viele der Anforderungen im Isolationsbereich bei einem wesentlich moderaten Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Die Polyethylennaphtalat (PEN) Folie ist bis 160°C mechanisch (180°C elektrisch) einsetzbar und hat eine höhere mechanische Stabilität als „normale“ PET-Folie.

Mit Teonex als Basisisolation kann man sehr gut Isoliersysteme der UL-Klasse F aufbauen (155°C Dauergebrauchstemperatur). Klebebänder wie CMC 61100 oder CMC 61200 bieten daher die Möglichkeit, den gestiegenen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, ohne gleich eine deutlich überqualifizierte und damit teure Kapton® Folie einsetzen zu müssen.

Wegen der geringere Dampf- und Gasdurchlässigkeit und chemischen Beständigkeit findet die Folie auch Anwendungen in anderen Industriebereichen.

CMC Klebetechnik liefert aus Teonex® hergestellte Folien-Klebebänder, Laminate, Formstanzteile und Rollen.

  Vorteile in der Übersicht:

  • Teonex® hat eine 4-fach höhere Hydrolysebeständigkeit (Abbau durch Feuchtigkeit)

  • Teonex® besitzt eine Glasübergangstemperatur von 155°C (class F Einsatz möglich)

  • Teonex® hat einen verringerten Schrumpf von nur 0,4…1,0% (150°C/30 min; je nach Stärke)

  • Teonex® verfügt über eine hervorragende Spannungsfestigkeit bis 300kV/mm (25µm)

  • Teonex® hat auch bei erhöhten Temperaturen eine hervorragende mechanische Stabilität

  • Teonex® ist verfügbar in den Stärken 25µm und 50µm (auf Anfrage auch andere Stärken)

Teonex PEN-Folie und Klebeband
CMC-Type
Durchschlagsspannung (Veff.)
Eigenschaften

CMC 29725
​PEN-Folie Teonex® Q53
nicht klebend

Folienstärke: 0,025 mm
-
-
Jetzt Anfragen
CMC 29750
​​PEN-Folie Teonex® Q51
nicht klebend

Folienstärke: 0,050 mm
-
-
Jetzt Anfragen
CMC 61100
​PEN-Klebeband
Kleber: Acrylat

Folienstärke: 0,025 mm
Gesamtstärke: 0,070 mm
5.000
​Klebeband auf Basis einer PEN-Folie ausgerüstet mit einem sehr gut klebenden, wärmehärtenden Acrylatkleber, der auch auf vielen niederenergetischen Untergründen sehr gut haftet. Das Material eignet sich aufgrund der verwendeten Materialien für Wärmeklasse F. PEN verfügt über einen geringeren Schrumpf, eine höhere Hydrolysestabilität und eine geringere Gas- und Wasserdampfdurchlässigkeit wie gängige Polyesterfolien
Jetzt Anfragen
Datenblatt
Datasheet
CMC 61144
PEN-Klebeband
Kleber: Acrylat

Folienstärke: 0,025 mm
Gesamtstärke: 0,040 mm
-
-
Jetzt Anfragen
CMC 61200
​Laminat aus PEN und Glasgewebe Kleber: Acrylat

Folienstärke: 0,025 mm
Gesamtstärke: 0,070 mm
4.500
​Mechanisch sehr robustes Klebeband zum Bündeln und als Phasenisolierung in Elektromotoren (Wärmeklasse F), enorme Leistungsreserve durch Glasgewebe, sehr gute Klebkraft.
Jetzt Anfragen
Datenblatt
Datasheet
CMC 61401
​PEN-Klebeband
Kleber: Polyesterharz mit Flammschutz

Folienstärke: 0,025 mm
Gesamtstärke: 0,075 mm
​≥ 6.000 ​Laminierfolie für Flachkabelherstellung auf Basis PEN-Folie (FFC – flexible flat cables)
Jetzt Anfragen
Datenblatt

 Klebebänder auf Basis von PEN-Folien

Seit mehr als 40 Jahren ist Polyesterfolie in der Elektrotechnik ein etablierter, leistungsfähiger Isolierwerkstoff. Die verfügbaren Materialstärken reichen von etwa 4 µm bis in Bereiche von fast 1 mm. Hervorragende chemische, thermische und elektrische Merkmale überzeugen in zahllosen Anwendungen. Die größte Teil der Standardisolierklebebänder von CMC Klebetechnik basieren auf Polyesterfolien mit entsprechenden Klebstoffbeschichtungen.

Benötigt man jedoch eine höher thermisch belastbare Folie, kam bisher oft nur der Einsatz von Hochleistungswerkstoffen wie Polyimid (PI) Folien in Frage. Zwar sind die Leistungsdaten solcher PI-Folien beeindruckend, doch ist der Preis für die Folien durch das aufwändigere Herstellverfahren auch deutlich höher. Nicht jede Anwendung verträgt diesen erhöhten Preis - insbesondere nicht, wenn größere Mengen der Isolationsfolie benötigt werden.

 Die Lücke zwischen diesen beiden altbekannten Werkstoffen schließen Klebebänder auf Basis der PEN-Folie. Der chemischen Struktur nach ist Polyethylennaphthalat sehr eng mit dem Polyethylentherephthalat (PET, Polyester) verwandt. PEN unterscheidet sich von PET hauptsächlich durch eine höhere Glasübergangstemperatur (Tg), eine größere mechanische Festigkeit und eine gute Hydrolysebeständigkeit. Von der Haptik und Transparenz unterscheidet sind PEN von PET dagegen weniger. Auch in Bezug auf Klebebändern aus den beiden Materialien finden sich kaum Unterschiede.

 Die höhere Glasübergangstemperatur erlaubt jedoch den Einsatz der PEN-Folie in Anwendungen, die Klasse-F(155 °C)-Materialien erfordern. Zusammen mit der besseren Hydrolyse-, Chemikalien- und UV-Beständigkeit hat mit der PEN-Folie ein Werkstoff Einzug gehalten, der unter anderem von Elektromotorherstellern geschätzt wird. Höhere Effizienz, kleinere Bauform und Betrieb bei Nennlast erzeugen eine Wärmebelastung, der Materialien wie Nomex oder PEN besser widerstehen können wie klassische PET-Folien. Die Lebensdauer und Zuverlässigkeit im Überlastfall werden deutlich verbessert.


Den eigentlichen Vorteil spielt PEN aber im Transformatorenbau aus. Als Zwischenlagenisolation kann man für die Wärmeklasse B die bekannte Polyesterfolie verwenden. Beim Bau eines Transformators der Wärmeklasse F musste man insbesondere im nicht getränkten Spulenaufbau bis vor einigen Jahren auf Polyimidfolien ausweichen, was die Konstruktion durchaus erheblich verteuerte.

 Diese Lücke schließt die PEN-Folie und bietet damit einen kostengünstigeren Weg, Klasse-F-Spulen und -Übertrager zu bauen. Die Folie ist klassifiziert mit einer Brennbarkeitsstufe von UL 94 VTM-2 und erreicht einen Relative Thermal Index (RTI) = 180 °C (mechanisch), 160 °C (elektrisch).

 CMC Klebetechnik verwendet bei Klebebändern auf Basis von PEN verwenden meist den bereits auf der PET-Folie verwendeten Klebstoff, sofern der die erhöhte Dauergebrauchstemperatur verträgt. Auf diese Weise können altbekannte Komponenten eingesetzt werden, die dann zum Beispiel im Sealed Tube-Test nach UL 1446 zu keinem unerwarteten Ergebnisse bei den Tests führen. Eine Adoption von PEN-basierenden Klebebändern in bestehende Elektroisoliersysteme (EIS) ist auf diese Weise kostengünstig und mit geringem Risiko möglich.

Zurzeit finden PEN-Folien ein verstärktes Interesse bei den Herstellern von Komponenten für die Automobilindustrie, insbesondere im Rahmen der E-Mobilität. Die höhere Medienbeständigkeit spielt dabei eine besonders große Rolle - allerdings dämpft auch hier der signifikant höhere Preis gegenüber der Polyesterfolie die Einsatzfreudigkeit bei den Entwicklungsingenieuren.

PEN-Folien Klebebänder erhalten Sie von CMC in folgenden Standardausführungen:

CMC 61100 - 25µm PEN Folie mit Lösemittel-Acrylatkleber

CMC 61200 - 25µm PEN Folie kaschiert mit Glasgewebe und einem Lösemittel-Acrylatkleber

 Sonderausführungen, die gelegentlich gefertigt werden:

Klebebänder mit 50µm PEN-Folie, PEN-Klebebänder mit temperaturstabilem Polysiloxankleber, PEN Folie kaschiert mit Nomex und Acrylatkleber.