Kapton® - Polyimidfilm and Kapton Adhesive Tape

Among high-performance films, Kapton® from DuPont is certainly at the top. This high-quality polyimide film has been produced for over 40 years. Kapton® films are characterised by very high quality, an absence of faults and the best chemical, physical and thermal properties characteristics. Compared to cheaper polyimide films, Kapton has the highest thermal resistance, as is confirmed by UL (E39505). Many polyimide films only have a classification for 130 °C (class B).

Advantages at a glance:

  • can be used up to 400 °C for short periods (e.g. spare capacity in the event of an overload)

  • can be used continuously from -268 °C to +240 °C (RTI)

  • classified V0 (non-flammable and self-extinguishing) under UL 94

  • outstanding chemical resistance and consistent mechanical properties in many areas

  • very good dielectric strength, even at high temperatures

  • is available in many different versions for a wide range of applications

  • We supply Kapton polyimide film and Kapton adhesive tape as rolls, sheets as well as die-cut-parts

Kapton die-cut parts

Kapton adhesive tape from CMC Klebetechnik

The high thermal resistance, combined with effective adhesives for (short-term) temperatures up to 350 °C, makes Kapton® adhesive tape attractive for high-temperature applications. The service life of a machine can also be increased dramatically by using Kapton® adhesive tapes. When equipped with a high-quality, fully cross-linked polysiloxane adhesive, Kapton® adhesive tapes also withstand stresses from caustic chemicals, weathering and high voltages, as are found in large transformers and electric motors.

We only use high-quality industrial adhesives based on solvents for the adhesive coating of the Kapton® adhesive tapes. This gives you a polyimide adhesive tape that optimally complements the positive properties of the Kapton® film: easy application thanks to instant bonding, exact dosage, high performance of the adhesives with very good resistance to impregnation. When used as a masking tape (eg reflow soldering), Kapton® adhesive tape from CMC can be removed again without residues. Whether one-sided or double-sided, whether only 25 μm thick polyimide film or up to multiple laminates made of 125 μm thick Kapton film: CMC supplies the right solution.

Kapton adhesive tape is used in applications of electronics, for lithium-ion batteries (eg pouch cells for electromobility, OBC, DC / DC, BMS), as a soldering cap in electronics manufacturing For applications in aircraft construction.

You will also find further information on our website: www.kapton-klebeband.de


The many different Kapton® variants are a significant advantage for the customer. They combine additional specific features with the already outstanding properties of the polyimide film and thus make adaptation to particular requirements easier:

  • Kapton® HN – standard version from DuPont

  • Kapton® MT– thermoconductive but electrically insulating

  • Kapton® MT+ - TEMPRION™ EIF - The improved version of Kapton® MT with even better thermal conductivity

  • Kapton® CR – extremely improved resistance to corona discharges (PD)

  • Kapton® BCLY* – yellow colored foil for high-temperature labels

  • Kapton® FWR* – better hydrolytically resistant Kapton films

  • Kapton® B* - black colored Kapton foil, electrically insulating

  • Kapton® FN* – one or two-sided, with FEP coated foil for wire insulation (thermoplastic bonding)

  • Kapton® XP* – one or two-sided, with PFA coated foil for wire insulation (thermoplastic bonding)

  • Kapton® HPP-ST* – improved mechanical stability, surface treatment

  • Kapton® RS* – electrically conductive Kapton foil with excellent thermal properties

CMC Klebetechnik supplies adhesive tapes, laminates, die-cut party and rolls from many of the above listed versions

(*) These versions are only available on request and with minimum quantities

Kapton® - Polyimidfolie von DuPont und Kapton Klebeband

In der Gruppe der Hochleistungsfolien gehört Kapton® von DuPont mit Sicherheit an die Spitze. Diese hochwertige Polyimid-Folie wird seit über 40 Jahren gefertigt. Höchste Qualität, Fehlerfreiheit und beste chemische, physikalische und thermische Eigenschaften zeichnen die Folien aus. Im Gegensatz zu günstiger hergestellten Polyimid-Folien hat Kapton die höchste Temperaturbeständigkeit, die auch von UL (E39505) bestätigt wird. Denn manche Polyimid-Folien haben nur eine Klassifizierung für 130°C (class B). 

Vorteile in der Übersicht:

  • kurzfristig bei bis zu 400°C einsetzbar (z.B. Leistungsreserve bei Überlast)

  • dauerhaft einsetzbar von – 268°C bis +240°C (RTI)

  • nach UL 94 mit V0 (schwer entflammbar und selbstverlöschend) klassifiziert

  • hervorragende chemische Resistenz und in weiten Bereichen gleichbleibende mechanische Eigenschaften

  • sehr gute elektrische Spannungsfestigkeit selbst bei hohen Temperaturen

  • in vielen verschiedenen Ausführungen für unterschiedlichste Anwendungen erhältlich 

  • wir liefern Kapton-Polyimidfolie und Kapton Klebeband sowohl als Rolle, Zuschnitte sowie als Stanzteile

Kapton Stanzteile

Kapton Klebeband von CMC Klebetechnik

Die hohe Temperaturbeständigkeit, verbunden mit leistungsfähigen Klebstoffen für bis zu 350°C (kurzfristig) machen das Kapton® Klebeband interessant für Hochtemperaturanwendungen. Auch die Lebensdauer eines Gerätes kann durch den Einsatz von Kapton® Klebebändern drastisch erhöht werden. Durch die Ausrüstung mit einem hochwertigen, vollvernetzten Polysiloxan-Klebstoff widersteht das Klebeband auch Belastungen durch aggressive Chemikalien, Bewitterung oder hohen Spannungen, wie sie in großen Transformatoren und Elektromotoren vorhanden sind.

Wir verwenden für die Kleberbeschichtung der Kapton Klebebänder ausschließlich hochwertige Industrieklebstoffe auf Lösemittelbasis. Sie erhalten dadurch ein Polyimid-Klebeband, dass die positiven Eigenschaften der Kapton® Folie hervorragend ergänzt: leichte Anwendung durch sofortige Verklebung, maßgenaue Dosierung, hohe Leistungsfähigkeit der Klebstoffe bei sehr guter Tränkmittelbeständigkeit. Im Einsatz als Abdeckklebeband (z.B Reflowlöten) ist Kapton Klebeband von CMC nachträglich rückstandfrei wieder abziehbar. Egal ob ein oder beidseitig klebend, ob nur 25µm starke Polyimid-Folie oder bis zu Mehrfachlaminaten aus 125µm starker Kaptonfolie: Wir liefern die passende Lösung.

Das Klebeband wird eingesetzt in Anwendungen der Elektronik, für Lithium-Ionen Batterien (z.B. Pouch-Zellen für Elektromobilität, OBC, DC/DC, BMS), als Lötabdeckung in der Elektronikfertigung, als hochtemperaturfeste Isolation in elektrischen Geräten, für Isolationen im Tiefsttemperaturbereich oder für Anwendungen im Flugzeugbau.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie außerdem auf unserer Webseite: www.kapton-klebeband.de

 

Ein wesentlicher Vorteil für den Kunden sind die vielen verschiedenen Varianten. Sie verbinden zusätzliche, spezifische Merkmale mit den bereits hervorragenden Eigenschaften der Polyimid-Folie und ermöglichen so eine bessere Anpassung an die jeweiligen Erfordernisse:

  • Kapton® HN – die Standardversion von DuPont

  • Kapton® MT– wärmeleitend aber elektrisch isolierend

  • Kapton® BCLY* – gelb eingefärbte Folie für Hochtemperatur-Etiketten

  • Kapton® FWR* – bessere hydrolysebeständige Kaptonfolien

  • Kapton® B* - schwarz eingefärbte Kaptonfolie, elektrisch isolierend

  • Kapton® FN* – ein- oder beiseitig mit FEP beschichtete Folie für Drahtisolationen (thermoplastische Verklebung)

  • Kapton® XP* – ein- oder beiseitig mit PFA beschichtete Folie für Drahtisolationen (thermoplastische Verklebung)

  • Kapton® HPP-ST* – verbesserte mechanische Stabilität, Oberflächentreatment

  • Kapton® RS* – elektrisch leitfähige Kaptonfolie mit hervorragenden thermischen Eigenschaften

CMC Klebetechnik liefert aus vielen der oben aufgeführten Versionen Klebebänder, Laminate, Formstanzteile und Rollen

(*) diese Versionen sind nur auf Anfrage und mit Mindestmengen verfügbar