Mylar® and Hostaphan® - Polyester film and adhesive tape


Mylar® is the trade name used by DuPont for a family of polyester films that take on a milky cloudiness with increasing thickness. They provide an excellent combination of electrical and chemical, thermal and physical properties. As a result of the large quantity of film produced, PET films are also cheap.

The polyester film is characterised by excellent resistance to common solvents. Mylar® films can be used at temperatures from -70 °C to 150 °C. As they do not contain any plasticisers, they do not become brittle as they age under normal conditions. Individual types are particularly UV-resistant, while others are now extremely resistant to hydrolysis. Mylar® polyester film can be used continuously at temperatures up to 130 °C (class B according to UL 746C) as insulation in transformers, electric motors and other electrical and electronic devices. The UL file number is E93687 Mylar® films are available in a wide range of thicknesses. For example, there are 4 µm versions that are used in capacitor production. They are kept in stock by CMC Klebetechnik as standard in the range between 19 µm and 350 µm.

  • Mylar® Films have a very high dielectric strength of up to 280 kV/mm

  • Mylar® Films are available in a wide range of designs

  • Mylar® Films are chemically very stable

  • Mylar® Films can be highly transparent (screen films)

  • Mylar® Films can be used for printing and are extremely gas and aroma-proof

  • Mylar® Films have excellent dimensional stability even at high temperatures

In order to cover the specific requirements of the various markets more effectively, various special types have been developed. The solar energy sector, in particular, has been looking for an alternative to Tedlar® in recent years, which has meant that Mylar® films with excellent resistance to UV and hydrolysis are now on the market.

  • Mylar® A Films:this is the standard version of Mylar® PET films with well-balanced mechanical, electrical and chemical properties

  • Mylar® ADS Films: a particularly shrink-resistant version of the Mylar® A films. Greater dimensional stability at temperatures up to 150 °C.

  • Mylar® C Films: particularly mechanically stable version with outstanding electrical properties for capacitor manufacturers

  • Mylar® D Films: very suitable for coating and metallisation with slightly matt surface for optimal rolling properties

  • Mylar® HS Films: a shrink film based on polyester for insulation and packaging purposes (FDA certification available)

  • Mylar® OL Films: family of Mylar® films with additional features (heat-activated PET layer)

In addition to the types described, there is a wide variety of Mylar® films with special properties. Not all types of film are always available and some can only be obtained on request and taking account of the minimum quantities. Mylar® is the registered trade name for polyester film from DuPont.


Hostaphan® is a family of PET films made by Mitsubishi. Hostaphan® polyester has extremely good properties in terms of mechanical stability, dielectric strength, abrasion and thermal resistance. The films can be supplied highly transparent or coloured white or black, for example. They have good barrier properties and are extremely chemically resistant.

Hostaphan® films are available in many specific designs. Hostaphan® films can be used in the temperature range -70 °C to 150 °C. As they do not contain any plasticisers, they do not become brittle or fragile as they age under normal conditions.

  • Hostaphan® Polyester has outstanding electrical insulation properties

  • Hostaphan® Polyester can be used as insulation at continuous temperatures of up to 130 °C

  • Hostaphan® is used in the printing industry as a high-quality printing film that is resistant to ageing

  • Hostaphan® Polyester can be used as a carrier film for flexible printed circuits

  • Hostaphan® Polyester is resistant to fungi and bacteria

  • Hostaphan® Polyester is highly resistant to impregnating and grouting agents

Biaxially stretched films from Mitsubishi are produced in many different versions. Adhesive surfaces, sealable versions and functional coatings are available, for example. The films are produced in a very narrow tolerance range and some can even be used in the food and medical industries.

  • Hostaphan® RN: the standard polyester film from Mitsubishi

  • Hostaphan® RF: a flame-retardant 50 µm PET film (UL94 V0 or B1

  • Hostaphan® RUF: a flame-retardant, UV-resistant film (19 µm)

  • Hostaphan® RUV: extremely UV-resistant film

  • Hostaphan® WN: white, translucent film

  • Hostaphan® WO: white, opaque film

Not all versions are kept in stock and are subject to certain minimum quantities. Hostaphan® RN is usually available from stock in 23 µm, 36 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 190 µm, 250 µm and 350 µm thicknesses.

Datasheet for the common types 190 to 350µm:  German    English

Mylar® und Hostaphan® - Polyesterfolien und Polyester Klebebänder

Mylar®

Mylar® ist der Handelsname von DuPont für eine Familie von Polyesterfolien, die mit zunehmender Dicke milchig trüb werden. Sie bietet ein ausgezeichnet Kombination von elektrischen sowie chemischen, thermische und physikalische Eigenschaften. Aufgrund der großen Menge gefertigter Folie sind PET-Folien zudem günstig.

Die Polyesterfolie zeichnet sich durch eine ausgezeichnete Beständigkeit gegen gängige Lösemittel aus. Mylar® Folien sind bei Temperaturen von -70 °C bis 150 °C einsetzbar. Da sie keinerlei Weichmacher enthalten, werden sie bei Alterung unter normalen Bedingungen nicht spröde. Einzelne Typen sind besonders UV-beständig und weitere sind mittlerweile extrem hydrolysefest. Mylar® Polyesterfolie kann bis 130°C dauerhaft eingesetzt werden (class B gemäß UL 746C) als Isolation in Transformatoren, Elektromotoren und anderen elektrischen und elektronischen Geräten. Die UL-Filenummer ist E93687 Mylar® Folien sind in einem großen Dickenbereich erhältlich. So gibt es 4µm Versionen, die z.B. in der Kondensatorfertigung eingesetzt werden. Im Bereich zwischen 19µm und 350µm sind sie als Standard bei der CMC Klebetechnik Lagerware.

  • Mylar® Folien bieten eine sehr hohe Durchschlagsspannungsfestigkeit bis 280kV/mm

  • Mylar® Folien sind in verschiedensten Ausführungen erhältlich

  • Mylar® Folien sind chemisch sehr stabil

  • Mylar® Folien können hochtransparent sein (Bildschirmfolien)

  • Mylar® Folien können bedruckt werden und sind sehr gas- bzw. aromadicht

  • Mylar® Folien haben eine hervorragende Maßhaltigkeit auch bei erhöhten Temperaturen

Um die speziellen Anforderungen der verschiedenen Märkte besser abdecken zu können, wurden verschiedene Spezialtypen entwickelt. Besonders die Solarenergie forderte in den letzten Jahren eine Alternative zu Tedlar®, was dazu führte, das heute Mylar@ Folien auf dem Markt sind, die eine exzellente UV- und Hydrolysebeständigkeit aufweisen.

  • Mylar® A Folien: dies ist die Standardversion von Mylar® PET-Folien mit ausgewogenen mechanischen, elektrischen und chemischen Eigenschaften

  • Mylar® ADS Folien: eine besonders schrumpfarme Version der Mylar® A Folien. Größere Maßhaltigkeit bis 150°C Temperatureinsatz.

  • Mylar® C Folien: besonders mechanisch stabile Version mit hervorragenden elektrischen Eigenschaften für Kondensatorhersteller

  • Mylar® D Folien: gute Beschichtbarkeit und Metallisierbarkeit mit leicht matter Oberfläche für optimales Abrollverhalten

  • Mylar® HS Folien: eine Schrumpffolie auf Polyesterbasis für Isolations- und Verpackungszwecke (FDA Zulassung vorhanden)

  • Mylar® OL Folien: Familie von Mylar® Folien mit zusätzlicher Ausrüstung (hitzeaktivierbarer PET-Schicht)

Es gibt neben den dargestellten Typen eine ganze Menge weitere Mylar® Folien mit speziellen Eigenschaften. Nicht jeder Folientyp ist immer verfügbar und wird nur auf Anfrage und unter Beachtung der Mindestmengen beschafft. Mylar® der registrierte Handelsname für Polyesterfolie von DuPont.

Hostaphan®

Hostaphan® ist eine Familie von PET-Folien aus dem Hause Mitsubishi. Hostaphan® Polyester hat ausgesprochen gute Eigenschaften bezüglich mechanischer Stabilität, elektrische r Spannungsfestigkeit, Abrieb und Wärmestandfestigkeit. Die Folien können hochtransparent oder auch z.B. weiß oder schwarz eingefärbt geliefert werden. Sie besitzen gute Barriere-Eigenschaften und sind chemisch sehr beständig. Hostaphan® Folien gibt es in vielen spezifischen Ausführungen.

Hostaphan® Folien sind im Temperaturbereich von -70 °C bis 150 °C einsetzbar. Da sie keinerlei Weichmacher enthalten, werden sie bei Alterung unter normalen Bedingungen nicht spröde oder brüchig.

  • Hostaphan® Polyester hat eine hervorragende elektrische Isoliereigenschaft

  • Hostaphan® Polyester kann bis 130°C Dauertemperatur als Isolation eingesetzt werden

  • Hostaphan® wird in der Druckindustrie als alterungsstabile, hochwertige Druckfolie verwendet

  • Hostaphan® Polyester kann als Trägerfolie für flexible, gedruckte Schaltungen eingesetzt werden

  • Hostaphan® Polyester ist resistent gegen Pilze und Bakterien

  • Hostaphan® Polyester ist sehr beständig gegen Tränk- und Vergussmittel

Biaxial gereckte Folien von Mitsubishi werden in vielen verschiedenen Version gefertigt. Zum Teil sind Haftoberflächen, siegelbare Versionen oder z.B. funktionalisierende Beschichtungen verfügbar. Die Folien werden in einem sehr engen Toleranzbereich gefertigt und können zum Teil sogar in der Lebensmittel- und Medizinindustrie eingesetzt werden.

  • Hostaphan® RN: die Standard-Polyesterfolie von Mitsubishi

  • Hostaphan® RF: eine flammhemmende 50µm PET-Folie (UL94 bzw. B1)

  • Hostaphan® RUF: eine flammhemmende und UV-beständige Folie (19µm)

  • Hostaphan® RUV: besonders UV-stabile Folie

  • Hostaphan® WN: weiße, transluzente Folie

  • Hostaphan® WO: weiße, undurchsichtige Folie

Nicht alle Versionen sind lagermäßig verfügbar und unterliegen gewissen Mindestmengen. Hostaphan® RN ist in den Stärken 23µm, 36µm, 50µm, 100µm, 190µm, 250µm und 350µm normalerweise lagermäßig verfügbar.

Datenblatt der gängigen Typen 190...350µm:  Deutsch    English

Polyesterfolie